African American Leadership Honored by the Economic Community of West African States Ambassadors Group in Washington, D.C.



Honorees from the Economic Community of West African States Ambassadors Group reception on September 14, 2015 at the Embassy of Ghana. The reception was organized as a special salute to African-American leadership on African issues. Those honored were Dr. Johnnetta B. Cole, the Director of the Smithsonian National Museum on African Art; Flori Liser, the US Trade Representative for Africa; Ambassador Linda Thomas-Greenfield, the Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs; Congresswoman Karen Bass, the Ranking Member of the House Sub-Committee on Africa; and Melvin Foote the President of the Constituency for Africa (CFA).

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was established on May 28 1975 via the treaty of Lagos, hence, it a 15-member regional group with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries. Member countries include Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d' Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo. ECOWAS was created to foster the ideal of collective self-sufficiency for its member states, to work as a trading union, and to create a single trading bloc through economic cooperation.